Please note that the TimeRef website is currently being redesigned. This page shows what the rest of site will eventually look like.
|County||Cambridgeshire (3 castles)||Categories|
|Remains||Excellent remains||Access||Only open at certain times|
|Location||52.3986,0.264||Directions||Directions via Google Maps|
|Cambridgeshire (3 castles)|
|Only open at certain times|
|Directions via Google Maps|
Dimensions of main church
|Length from tower arch to east window||445||0|
|Length of nave||230||0|
|Height of nave||86||0|
|Width of nave||78||0|
|Diameter of octogon||74||0|
|Height of western tower||215||0|
Work began on Ely Cathedral
In 1106 or 1107 at Ely Cathedral the remains of saint Etheldreda were moved into the newly built presbytery. This was done on the saint's day, October 17th.
The church at Ely became a Cathedral when it became the seat of the bishopric (or Diocese) of the area.
A shrine to St. Ethelreda was installed in the retrochoir of the cathedral. The ceremony was attended by Henry III and many other dignitaries.
The construction of the Lady Chapel (also known as the Trinity Chapel) was started in 1321 at Ely Cathedral. Shortly after work began the central tower fell down damaging the choir area.
The collapse of the central crossing tower of Ely Cathedral allowed the construction of the unique Octagon that took its place.
The octagonal vault and the lantern above if were designed and built by the master mason William Hurley at Ely Cathedral.
Explore a virtual UK
If you are Using Edge, Chrome Or Firefox, Explore a virtual UK Landscape (Beta)