Please note that the TimeRef website is currently being redesigned. This page shows what the rest of site will eventually look like.
|County||Somerset (8 castles)||Categories|
|Remains||Excellent remains||Access||Only open at certain times|
|Location||51.21053,-2.643442||Directions||Directions via Google Maps|
|Somerset (8 castles)|
|Only open at certain times|
|Directions via Google Maps|
Work on Wells Cathedral began in this year. (More Information to follow)
The church at Wells was dedicated in this year, but did not get its status as a Cathedral until 1244.
The Pope decreed that Wells should be reinstated as a Cathedral and the Bishop became the Bishop of Bath and Wells.
The Chapter House and the complicated arrangement of steps leading to them were started in this year and were not completed until around 1310.
Work commenced on the Lady Chapel of Wells Cathedral. This could have been between 1320 and 1330.
Work commenced on the central tower of Wells Cathedral. This needed strengthening and in 1338, new internal arches were added to support the weight.
Reconstruction work, possibly on the choir, took place at Wells Cathedral.
The Scissor arches were added to prevent the collapse of the central tower.
William Wynford was the architect behind the South-west tower of Wells Cathedral.
The North-west tower of Wells Cathedral was constructed during this time.
Explore a virtual UK
If you are Using Edge, Chrome Or Firefox, Explore a virtual UK Landscape (Beta)