Please note that the TimeRef website is currently being redesigned. This page shows what the rest of site will eventually look like.
|County||Staffordshire (6 castles)||Categories|
|Remains||Excellent remains||Access||Only open at certain times|
|Location||52.6852,-1.8309||Directions||Directions via Google Maps|
|Staffordshire (6 castles)|
|Only open at certain times|
|Directions via Google Maps|
Lichfield had lost the status to allow it a cathedral during the eleventh century, but in 1128 Lichfield was restored to its ancient status.
The Chapter-house at Lichfield has two storeys, the lower one for the meetings and the upper one for the library. The building is roughly octagonal in shape, but two sides are double the length of the others.
The construction of a Lady Chapel at Lichfield Cathedral took place.
Lichfield Cathedral, surrounded by a defensive ditch and walls, was held by Royalist forces assisted by Royalist supporters in the Cathedral itself. The town of Lichfield as a whole supported Parliament and a Parliamentary force began a siege to take back the Cathedral. After an initial assault failed with the death of the commander of the Parliamentary force a new man, Sir John Gell, arrived to take command. Under his leadership the Royalists were removed from the Cathedral.
The Royalists under the command of Prince Rupert were determined to retake Lichfield Cathedral. Prince Rupert had a mine dug beneath the walls that surrounded the Cathedral and packed it with explosives. Before he blew the mine he had given those inside the walls a chance to surrender but they refused. The wall was breached and after a fight the Royalists retook control. This is generally thought to be the first time explosives were used in a mine in this way. The Cathedral suffered substantial damage at this time and was not fully restored for hundreds of years.
Explore a virtual UK
If you are Using Edge, Chrome Or Firefox, Explore a virtual UK Landscape