Only open at certain times
|Location||52.56149,-0.23208||Directions||Directions via Google Maps|
Moving south again from York, The Danes entered East Anglia, attacking and destroying the many religious buildings in the area including the monastery at was what to become Peterborough. The King of East Anglia, Edmund raised an army to attack the Danes but was captured and killed.
Dunstan, the Archbishop of Canterbury, and Oswald, the Archbishop of York, consecrated the abbey at Peterborough in the presence of King Edgar.
As part of a revolt against the new Norman invaders, Hereward the Wake sacked the abbey at Peterborough.
An accidental fire destroys the abbey at Peterborough.
After the devastating fire of 1116 work began on rebuilding the abbey at Peterborough. The central area including choir and transept were begun first. Work continued until 1155.
The nave of Peterborough Cathedral was the next phase of rebuilding work after the choir and transept. Work continued until 1175.
The West front of Peterborough Cathedral was constructed between the years 1193 and 1230.
The Lady Chapel of the Cathedral at Peterborough was constructed between 1272 and 1286.
The central tower of Peterborough Cathedral was begun in 1325.
Construction of the Galilee porch on the West front of Peterborough Cathedral was started in 1375.
Explore a virtual UK
If you are Using Edge, Chrome Or Firefox, Explore a virtual UK Landscape