uildwas Abbey was founded in 1135 by Roger de Clinton, the Bishop of Coventry. The founding order of the abbey was the Savignic order from Furness, but in 1147 the order merged with the much bigger Cistercian order. Much of the church still remains and over time parts have been incorporated for other uses. Buildwas has no daughter abbeys, but was given responsibility for Basingwerk (1157) and St. Mary's in Dublin (1166). Unusually, the cloister is positioned to the north of the main church due possibly for better access to drainage. The Chapter House is well preserved, consisting of four columns and rib vaulted ceiling. (See badly scanned photograph on the left). The nave of the church dates back to around 1150 and unusually had no main west door. Buildwas is under the care of English Heritage and is open to the public.
Buildwas Abbey was founded 1135 by Roger de Clinton. It was populated by monks from Furness Abbey. ¹
3D Virtual Reconstructions
Transport yourself back up to a thousand years and explore historical buildings as they may have appeared in the past. Built using the popular game development tool Unity 3D, these reconstructions will run in the most of the popular web browsers on your desktop or laptop computer.
Uncover the lives of the hundreds of kings, queens, lords, ladies, barons, earls, archbishops and rebels who made the medieval people an exciting period of history to live through.
Selection of references used:
1. Various, The Cistercian Abbeys of Britain, 1998, ISBN:0-7134-8392-X